Who are we? - IACATH

International Academy of Clinical and Applied Thrombosis/Hemostasis
Go to content

Main menu:

Who are we?

The Academy is dedicated to the encouragement and dissemination of information for clinically relevant research and reviews in thrombosis hemostasis and vascular medicine.

The Academy was founded to fill the ever-increasing need to disseminate this information to all medical and allied health professionals dealing with disorders of thrombosis and hemostasis. This includes virtually all medical specialties including hematology, internal medicine, cardiology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, general, orthopedic, vascular and cardiovascular surgery, pediatrics, pharmacologists and primary care providers, as well as pathology, laboratory scientists and those specializing in imaging techniques.

The goals of the Academy and membership emphasize the multidisciplinary nature of these disorders; thus the Academy is dedicated to the diagnosis, both clinical and applied (laboratory and imaging) and treatment of thrombotic and hemorrhagic disorders. Unlike other societies, which fulfill very well the role of disseminating information on basic and molecular aspects of thrombosis and hemostasis, the Academy attempts to disseminate the clinically relevant aspects of these disorders.

To that end, the Academy is a multidisciplinary group of individuals, as reflected by the Board of Directors and Editorial Board of the official Journal of the Academy: INTERNATIONAL ANGIOLOGY.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite all individuals of any medical specialty or primary care, and allied health personnel, involved or interested in diagnosis and treatment of thrombotic and hemorrhagic disorders to join our Academy.
The Academy also offers Board Certification (Doctorate level) and Specialty Certification (non-doctorate level allied health personnel) examinations in Thrombosis and Hemostasis.

Information regarding Fellowship (doctorate level individuals) and Membership (nondoctorate level individuals) can be obtained from our New York office.
Scientific Advisory Council Members:

Yale Arkel
Jawed Fareed
Eugene P. Frenkel
Antonio Girolami
Lothar Heilman
Ralph E. Holsworth, Jr
Eberhard F. Mammen
Dimitri Mikhailidis
Gene Myers
Graham Pineo
Alice Runge
Meyer Samama
Georg-Friedrich Von Tempelhoff
Hideo Wada
Jeanine Walenga

Executive Director
Ann Gailius
Biannual  Meeting Report

The Society will hold our meeting in conjunction with that of the American Society of Angiology (ASA), on a biannual schedule, in an effort to be as cost effective as possible. Every effort will be made to keep the registration fee at a reasonable level (with a discount for IACATH Society Members).

There will be the additional benefit for each Society's Membership to allow reciprocal attendance at the others session at no additional cost, as there will be complimentary content.

Plans are currently underway for the next 2024 meeting (where Covid regulation apply). Meeting details and program will be available on this site in the near future.

Contact us: IACATH 65 Bryant Avenue Roslyn Harbor, NY 11576
Back to content | Back to main menu